Families Welcome!

Families are very welcome here at Scampston, and there is plenty on offer to keep the little ones learning about the natural world and the little creatures that live in it.

Being divided into separate areas, with plenty of hedges and hiding places, the Walled Garden is a great place for hide and seek, but please to be aware of the two open ponds.

Children under the age of 5 get free entry to Scampston and you are welcome to bring a picnic and fly your kite in the 80 acre 'Capability' Brown parkland.


Scamp the Mole & his Fairy Friends

Children of all ages love searching for Scamp the Mole hiding around the garden and spotting the butterflies and bees that are attracted to many of the flowers. A Scamp Explorer pack can be borrowed from the Ticket Office. 

New for 2017, Scamp is being joined by his Fairy Friends who help him look after all the other creatures in the trees. Discover our fairy trail in the woodland and their magic. Tie your wish to our wishing tree! 


The Garden Café

The Garden Café is well equipped for children, with highchairs, baby changing facilities, special children's menus and plenty of ice-cream in very enticing flavours. We also offer children’s activity sheets and colouring pencils, so you can have a little calm in which to enjoy your cream tea!


Special Events

The Heritage & Learning Centre at Scampston Conservatory offers a number of seasonal children’s activities – from drop-in craft events, to story-telling, wildlife trails and bug hunts. To see what is going on when you plant to visit, please go to Events (link to Events section, children filter)

WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
Thu 30 Mar 2017
Learn how to make the most of your small urban garden
Sat 01 Apr 2017
Try your hand at needle felting in this workshop
Sat 08 Apr 2017
Learn the techniques and skills to give your home a vintage look!
Tue 11 Apr 2017
Come along and make a beautiful floral arrangement for Easter
Thu 13 Apr 2017
Guided by Madeleine Wuidart, learn to perceive the landcape in a different way
Fri 14 Apr 2017
We would like to introduce you to Scamp the Mole's new fairy friends! A fun and fairy-filled day of story-telling, crafts, games and fairy cakes.
Fri 14 Apr 2017 - Sun 18 Jun 2017
Black and white photographs of rural Ryedale by Lucy Saggers
Sat 15 Apr 2017
Join us for an Easter Craft market in the Conservatory on the Bank Holiday Weekend
Tue 18 Apr 2017
An introduction to the world of wildlife for families, with fun crafts
Thu 20 Apr 2017 - Fri 21 Apr 2017
Learn the art of stained glass through a two day programme.
Thu 20 Apr 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Sat 22 Apr 2017 - Sun 23 Apr 2017
Free entry all weekend for Ryedale residents
Sat 22 Apr 2017
Create a beautiful willow owl for your home or garden
Wed 26 Apr 2017
The first in a series of lectures for parents and children. Come along and find out more about the wildlife on your doorstep.
Mon 01 May 2017
Explore the magic of the woodland in this family workshop
Fri 05 May 2017
Design a lovely planter for your home.
Fri 12 May 2017
Join us in the Walled Garden for an introduction to the Chinese martial art of Tai Chi.
Tue 16 May 2017
Guided by Madeleine Wuidart, learn take things a little more slowly and learn to appreciate the world around you.
Thu 18 May 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Fri 19 May 2017
Learn the art of felting with Jo Hunter
Sat 20 May 2017
Learn how to make beautiful bespoke jewellery with Jenny Weston
Sat 20 May 2017
Ideal for beginner photographers or those who are new to digital photography. This is a great way to explore the garden and spend a morning or afternoon with like-minded people. We cover a range of areas such as composition, exposure, focus, manual camera settings, aperture and shutter speed. We can also look at more experimental techniques and ideas such as long exposures to capture movement, zoom effects and out of focus photography.
Thu 25 May 2017
Guided by Madeleine Wuidart, learn take things a little more slowly and learn to appreciate the world around you.
Fri 26 May 2017
Create a beautiful willow fish for your home or garden
Thu 01 Jun 2017
Guided by Madeleine Wuidart, learn take things a little more slowly and learn to appreciate the world around you.
Sun 04 Jun 2017
Our bi-annual plant fair returns!
Thu 15 Jun 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 20 Jun 2017 - Sun 20 Aug 2017
An exhibition of the light, lines and colours of glasshouses across Yorkshire
Sun 25 Jun 2017
Join us and the team at Ryedale Book Festival for an action-packed day of poetry & nature writing with stars of the literary world. There will be something for all the family.
Sat 01 Jul 2017
Travelling theatre troupe The Three Inch Fools return for a second year with Twelfth Night, after a phenomenally successful performance of As You Like It last summer
Thu 20 Jul 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Fri 28 Jul 2017 - Mon 31 Jul 2017
Atlas Festival is coming Scampston on the 29th and 30th July 2017! Appealing to globetrotters, seasoned travellers, those with a love of dreaming of faraway lands or those who just want to experience a festival showcasing something a little different.
Sat 29 Jul 2017 - Sun 30 Jul 2017
Scampston Walled Garden provides a superb setting for exploring our relationship with nature through words and images. On each of these two days we can spend time discovering a new way of creating, through drawing and poetry, by using mindfulness as the foundation.
Thu 17 Aug 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 22 Aug 2017 - Sun 29 Oct 2017
Award-winning painter Lesley Birch paints from memory and imagination inspired by remote coasts, green hills and mysterious forests.
Sat 02 Sep 2017
Ideal for beginner photographers or those who are new to digital photography. This is a great way to explore the garden and spend a morning or afternoon with like-minded people. We cover a range of areas such as composition, exposure, focus, manual camera settings, aperture and shutter speed. We can also look at more experimental techniques and ideas such as long exposures to capture movement, zoom effects and out of focus photography.
Thu 14 Sep 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Sun 24 Sep 2017
Our autumnal fair returns!
Sat 07 Oct 2017 - Sun 08 Oct 2017
The garden gates open once again for Ryedale residents!
Sat 14 Oct 2017
Ideal for beginner photographers or those who are new to digital photography. This is a great way to explore the garden and spend a morning or afternoon with like-minded people. We cover a range of areas such as composition, exposure, focus, manual camera settings, aperture and shutter speed. We can also look at more experimental techniques and ideas such as long exposures to capture movement, zoom effects and out of focus photography.
Thu 19 Oct 2017
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.