At Scampston

Scampston Hall, home to Christopher & Miranda Legard and their family, is one of the finest examples of a regency country house stately home in North Yorkshire. The award winning Walled Garden is a must see and is open to the public from April to October. The William Richardson Conservatory, built in 1894, and the adjacent bothies behind the range of glasshouses, have been brought back to life with a new focus thanks to the help of a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund. The Cascade Circuit Walk provides visitors with the opportunity to visit the traditional gardens around the house including the Rock Garden, the Woodland Garden and the Lancelot 'Capability' Brown Parkland.

The Walled Garden
Set within the 18th century walls of the original kitchen garden for Scampston Hall the Walled Garden has an exciting and unashamedly modern feel to it and complements the adjacent 18th century ‘Capability’ Brown park.
Scampston Hall
Scampston Hall, home to Christopher & Miranda Legard and their family, is one of the finest examples of a regency country house stately home in North Yorkshire.
The Conservatory
Built in 1894, The William Richardson conservatory and the adjacent bothies have been brought back to life with a new focus thanks to the help of a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund
Parkland
Scampston Hall looks over one of the finest parks in North Yorkshire. The park evolved throughout the 18th Century, culminating in a design by Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown in 1782.
WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
Tue 19 Jun 2018 - Sun 19 Aug 2018
Kate takes her inspiration from the Walled Garden to combine her two passions for painting and garden. Her exhibition will be available to view in the Garden Cafe.
Wed 20 Jun 2018
Create beautiful floral arrangements for the summer with Liz Wattrus
Sat 23 Jun 2018
Join Jane Hare for an eco-printing workshop
Fri 29 Jun 2018
Join Angela Chalmers to learn the process of sun printing
Sat 30 Jun 2018
Learn to take beautiful photos in the garden with Ryedale Garden Photography
Sun 01 Jul 2018
For the third year, The Three Inch Fools will be returning with their fresh and vibrant take on Shakespearean comedy 'A Midsummer's Night Dream'. Join us in the Hall Gardens for what is sent to be another rip-roaring musical adventure
Wed 04 Jul 2018
Create your own willow pheasant with Wendy Bristow
Fri 06 Jul 2018
Create a beautiful felted flower with Nicola Davey
Fri 13 Jul 2018
Bouquet making in the Conservatory with Liz Wattrus
Sat 14 Jul 2018
***SOLD OUT*** Join Jo Hunter to create a unique Nuno Scarf using wool and silk
Tue 17 Jul 2018
An evening lecture with Penelope Dawson-Brown about the York Florists
Thu 19 Jul 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Thu 19 Jul 2018
Spend the day with the UK’s leading authority on ornamental grasses as he explores the use of grasses and perennials in the modern garden to provide stunning design, easy maintenance and hugely enjoyable green spaces.
Tue 31 Jul 2018
Learn everything and anything to do with owls with the team from Natural England
Fri 03 Aug 2018
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Sat 04 Aug 2018 - Sun 05 Aug 2018
The Pregnancy & Baby Fair 2018 Roadshow will travel around the UK throughout 2018 with ‘smart’ wristband technology for a shopping experience with a difference for parents and parents to be.
Sun 05 Aug 2018
In association with NECPWA York, Scampston will be holding a Historic Vehicle Gathering for the enjoyment of owners and admirers of classic cars.
Tue 07 Aug 2018
Join us for a day to explore the wonderful world of butterflies, bees and moths
Fri 10 Aug 2018
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Thu 16 Aug 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Fri 17 Aug 2018
Join the team from Natural England for a pond dipping event
Tue 21 Aug 2018 - Sun 28 Oct 2018
Stef Mitchell's exhibition in the Garden Cafe records the seasons at Scampston Hall gardens and grounds using the historical process of nature printing
Fri 24 Aug 2018
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Fri 31 Aug 2018
A daytime event which will shine a light on creatures of the night time.
Sat 01 Sep 2018 - Sun 02 Sep 2018
For the first time, join us for the Yorkshire Traction Engine Rally in the Scampston Parkland
Wed 05 Sep 2018
Explore the world of herbs with Garth Cottage Herbs
Fri 07 Sep 2018
Learn how to create a felted cushion panel with Nicola Davey
Tue 18 Sep 2018 - Wed 19 Sep 2018
Join Phil Bradley on a two day course which will teach you the art of basket weaving
Thu 20 Sep 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Fri 21 Sep 2018
Join Nicola Davey and learn how to make a fabulously quirky felt hot water bottle cover
Sat 22 Sep 2018
Learn to take beautiful photos in the garden with Ryedale Garden Photography
Sun 30 Sep 2018
Scampston's Autumn Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Fri 05 Oct 2018
Learn how to keep your garden trim and in perfect health with Martin Fish
Tue 09 Oct 2018
Learn how to make a willow bird feeder or a willow planter for your home with Wendy Bristow
Fri 12 Oct 2018
Join textile artist Jo Hunter and learn how to make a 3D bag or purse.
Sat 13 Oct 2018 - Sun 14 Oct 2018
Join us at Scampston for the final Community Weekend of 2018 where all Ryedale Residents will gain free entry to the Walled Garden & Parkland
Tue 16 Oct 2018
Learn how to create beautiful autumnal floral arrangements with Liz Wattrus
Thu 18 Oct 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Fri 19 Oct 2018
Join Martin Fish to learn how to brighten your borders at a darker time of the year
Wed 14 Nov 2018
Join Sandra Piercy to learn how to sew a fun doorstop for your home
Fri 23 Nov 2018
Learn how to make a unique wreath for your door this Christmas with Nicola Davey
Tue 27 Nov 2018
Make your own stags head for the wall this Christmas with Wendy Bristow
Fri 30 Nov 2018
Learn how to make willow heart and star Christmas decorations with Wendy Bristow
Wed 05 Dec 2018
Join Liz Wattrus to learn how to create a beautiful wreath for your door and garland for your mantelpiece
Fri 07 Dec 2018
Join Liz Wattrus to create a beautiful wreath for your door and a garland for your mantelpiece
TESTIMONIALS
"The Walled Garden at Scampston is really imaginative and creative and a marvellous use of space. It is without doubt one of the great gardens of the early 21st century."
Sir Richard Carew Pole
" Gorgeous house and gardens. Wish I'd come years ago, but will certainly return very soon! Fantastic house tour. "
Rachel & Elizabeth, North Yorkshire
"Quite simply the best garden I have ever seen (and I've seen an awful lot of gardens!) "
Sarah, Oxfordshire
"Inside, [Scampston Hall] boasts some of the finest Regency interiors in Britain. There are original wallpapers and exquisite furniture that reflects the family’s French heritage. There is also a notable collection of porcelain and 5,000 rare books that come off the shelves every ten years to be waxed and dusted. "
Sharon Dale, The Yorkshire Post
"The tour of the house is well worth doing as well. Ours was conducted by the father of the present occupant, who formerly lived there himself. He was entertaining as well as informative about this charming house, which is not over-large and clearly still a family home."
Stephen, Chesterfield
"I’ve just returned from a visit to Scampston Walled Garden in North Yorkshire all fired up and feeling inspired by the dazzling autumn planting created by master plant designer Piet Oudolf. The garden really captures the feel of the European garden style or “prairie planting” look as many of us have come to know it. The explosion of seedheads, grasses and collapsing perennials still looked amazing and will continue to do so for many months ahead. "
Sean Murray
"This garden has made our visit a pure delight and is now in my top 5 gardens. Stunning structure and detail. Calming and strong. A real pleasure - thank you for the pure inspiration. "
Sarah, Warwickshire
"Beautiful gardens and so well maintained. Everywhere was very well thought out, inside and out. Staff were very pleasant. "
Jane & Sue, South Yorkshire
"Within the historic Walled Garden at Scampston Hall there are eight rooms, each one a wonderful display of contemporary planting, structure and form."
Stephen Lacy, Daily Telegraph
"We decided to have lunch in the cafe and so glad we did. I had a cheese jacket potato and side salad and it was very good followed this with a pot of tea and shared a slice of lemon meringue cake. At just under £20.00 well worth it for the quality of the food and service from the ladies who worked there. "
Hazel