Families Welcome!

Families are very welcome here at Scampston, and there is plenty on offer to keep the little ones learning about the natural world and the little creatures that live in it.

Being divided into separate areas, with plenty of hedges and hiding places, the Walled Garden is a great place for hide and seek, but please to be aware of the two open ponds.

Children under the age of 5 get free entry to Scampston and you are welcome to bring a picnic and fly your kite in the 80 acre 'Capability' Brown parkland.


Scamp the Mole & his Fairy Friends

Children of all ages love searching for Scamp the Mole hiding around the garden and spotting the butterflies and bees that are attracted to many of the flowers. A Scamp Explorer pack can be borrowed from the Ticket Office. 

New for 2017, Scamp is being joined by his Fairy Friends who help him look after all the other creatures in the trees. Discover our fairy trail in the woodland and their magic. Tie your wish to our wishing tree! 


The Garden Café

The Garden Café is well equipped for children, with highchairs, baby changing facilities, special children's menus and plenty of ice-cream in very enticing flavours. We also offer children’s activity sheets and colouring pencils, so you can have a little calm in which to enjoy your cream tea!


Special Events

The Heritage & Learning Centre at Scampston Conservatory offers a number of seasonal children’s activities – from drop-in craft events, to story-telling, wildlife trails and bug hunts. To see what is going on when you plant to visit, please go to Events (link to Events section, children filter)

WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
Tue 22 Aug 2017 - Sun 29 Oct 2017
Award-winning painter Lesley Birch paints from memory and imagination inspired by remote coasts, green hills and mysterious forests.
Tue 24 Oct 2017
Half term fun days for children at Scampston
Tue 24 Oct 2017
Join Scampston's Fairy Godmother's for an afternoon of story-telling with a terrifying twist!
Fri 27 Oct 2017
Join Scampston's Fairy Godmother's for an afternoon of story-telling with a terrifying twist!
Thu 02 Nov 2017
The story of the local craftsmen who were involved in the implementation of the Brownian plans for the Scampston Parkland and Buildings, by Nigel Copsey
Tue 14 Nov 2017
Learn the art of relief printing with Jenny Weston
Thu 23 Nov 2017
Dr Ridgeway will talk about the work of a curator: researching, understanding and interpreting country house collections
Fri 24 Nov 2017
Create beautiful felted decorations for Christmas with textile artist Jo Hunter
Sun 03 Dec 2017
The perfect spot for your Christmas shopping! Unique gifts from crafters and artisan producers.
Tue 05 Dec 2017
Learn how to make a beautiful wreath for your home
Sat 14 Apr 2018 - Sun 15 Apr 2018
Scampston's doors will open to the local community with free admission to all those with a Ryedale postcode across the weekend
Sat 19 May 2018 - Sun 20 May 2018
The Pickering Game & Country Fair returns once more to Scampston
Sun 03 Jun 2018
Scampston's Spring Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Sun 30 Sep 2018
Scampston's Autumn Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Sat 13 Oct 2018 - Sun 14 Oct 2018
Join us at Scampston for the final Community Weekend of 2018 where all Ryedale Residents will gain free entry to the Walled Garden & Parkland