Families Welcome!

Families are very welcome here at Scampston, and there is plenty on offer to keep the little ones learning about the natural world and the little creatures that live in it.

Being divided into separate areas, with plenty of hedges and hiding places, the Walled Garden is a great place for hide and seek, but please to be aware of the two open ponds.

Children under the age of 5 get free entry to Scampston and you are welcome to bring a picnic and fly your kite in the 80 acre 'Capability' Brown parkland.


Scamp the Mole & his Fairy Friends

Children of all ages love searching for Scamp the Mole hiding around the garden and spotting the butterflies and bees that are attracted to many of the flowers. A Scamp Explorer pack can be borrowed from the Ticket Office. 

New for 2017, Scamp is being joined by his Fairy Friends who help him look after all the other creatures in the trees. Discover our fairy trail in the woodland and their magic. Tie your wish to our wishing tree! 


The Garden Café

The Garden Café is well equipped for children, with highchairs, baby changing facilities, special children's menus and plenty of ice-cream in very enticing flavours. We also offer children’s activity sheets and colouring pencils, so you can have a little calm in which to enjoy your cream tea!


Special Events

The Heritage & Learning Centre at Scampston Conservatory offers a number of seasonal children’s activities – from drop-in craft events, to story-telling, wildlife trails and bug hunts. To see what is going on when you plant to visit, please go to Events (link to Events section, children filter)

WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
Fri 30 Mar 2018 - Sun 17 Jun 2018
Local artist Justine exhibits rich mixed media and textile pieces which are based on local landscapes, and which take inspiration from the Walled Garden
Fri 30 Mar 2018
Scampston's Fairy Godmothers return with some new stories and lots of new activities for little ones!
Mon 02 Apr 2018
Scampston's Fairy Godmothers return with some new stories and lots of new activities for little ones!
Thu 05 Apr 2018
Scampston's Fairy Godmothers return with some new stories and lots of new activities for little ones!
Tue 10 Apr 2018
Scampston's Fairy Godmothers return with some new stories and lots of new activities for little ones!
Fri 13 Apr 2018
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Sat 14 Apr 2018 - Sun 15 Apr 2018
Scampston's doors will open to the local community with free admission to all those with a Ryedale postcode across the weekend
Sun 15 Apr 2018
Join the team from Natural England in Scampston Conservatory and discover the wacky wonders of the natural world with a day of family friendly activities
Thu 19 Apr 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here
Fri 20 Apr 2018
Join Nicola Davey and learn how to use wet felting to make some fabulous statement jewellery
Wed 25 Apr 2018
Learn how to create a cut flower patch in your garden at home
Sun 13 May 2018
Join us on a fundraising charity obstacle run for Saint Catherine's Hospice
Thu 17 May 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Sat 19 May 2018 - Sun 20 May 2018
The Yorkshire Game & Country Fair returns once more to Scampston
Sun 03 Jun 2018
Scampston's Spring Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Thu 14 Jun 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 19 Jun 2018 - Sun 19 Aug 2018
Kate takes her inspiration from the Walled Garden to combine her two passions for painting and garden. Her exhibition will be available to view in the Garden Cafe
Sun 01 Jul 2018
For the third year, The Three Inch Fools will be returning with their fresh and vibrant take on Shakespearean comedy 'A Midsummer's Night Dream'. Join us in the Hall Gardens for what is sent to be another rip-roaring musical adventure
Sat 14 Jul 2018 - Sun 15 Jul 2018
The fantastical Atlas Festival returns in 2018! Get your tickets before the New Year to avoid any booking fees.
Thu 19 Jul 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Thu 19 Jul 2018
Spend the day with the UK’s leading authority on ornamental grasses as he explores the use of grasses and perennials in the modern garden to provide stunning design, easy maintenance and hugely enjoyable green spaces.
Sun 05 Aug 2018
In association with NECPWA York, Scampston will be holding a Historic Vehicle Gathering for the enjoyment of owners and admirers of classic cars.
Thu 16 Aug 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 21 Aug 2018 - Sun 28 Oct 2018
Stef Mitchell's exhibition in the Garden Cafe records the seasons at Scampston Hall gardens and grounds using the historical process of nature printing
Sat 01 Sep 2018 - Sun 02 Sep 2018
For the first time, join us for the Yorkshire Traction Engine Rally in the Scampston Parkland
Thu 20 Sep 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Sun 30 Sep 2018
Scampston's Autumn Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Sat 13 Oct 2018 - Sun 14 Oct 2018
Join us at Scampston for the final Community Weekend of 2018 where all Ryedale Residents will gain free entry to the Walled Garden & Parkland
Thu 18 Oct 2018
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.