Families Welcome!

Families are very welcome here at Scampston, and there is plenty on offer to keep the little ones learning about the natural world and the little creatures that live in it.

Being divided into separate areas, with plenty of hedges and hiding places, the Walled Garden is a great place for hide and seek, but please to be aware of the two open ponds.

Children under the age of 5 get free entry to Scampston and you are welcome to bring a picnic and fly your kite in the 80 acre 'Capability' Brown parkland.

Scamp the Mole & Friends

Children of all ages love discovering the sights and sounds of the Walled Garden using our Sensory Bags and Scamp Explorer packs, which can be borrowed from the Ticket Office.

Scamp is now joined by his magical friends. Discover our Enchanted Trail in the woodland to find all eight of them. Then tie your wishing ribbon to our wishing tree!

The Garden Café

The Garden Café is well equipped for children, with highchairs, baby changing facilities, special children's menus and plenty of ice-cream in very enticing flavours. We also offer children’s activity sheets and colouring pencils, so you can have a little calm in which to enjoy your cream tea!

Nature Trail

In 2018 we launched our parkland Nature Trail, taking children on an adventure across Scampston's landscape of fields, bridges, gardens and lakes to find our selection of local creatures. An activity sheet accompanies the journey and is packed with fun facts about each creature.

Special Events

The Heritage & Learning Centre at Scampston Conservatory offers a number of seasonal children’s activities – from drop-in craft events, to story-telling, wildlife trails and bug hunts. Our resident Fairy Godmothers are often on hand during the school holidays with storytelling sessions and games. To see what is going on when you plan to visit, please go to Events (link to Events section, children filter).

WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
sheep
Fri 26 Mar 2021 - Sun 13 Jun 2021
This Spring, Jo Garlick’s exhibition in the Garden Cafe illustrates the beauty of the natural world that surrounds us in Yorkshire, including its wildlife and stunning landscapes.
capability brown
Wed 14 Apr 2021
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
children in garden
Sat 17 Apr 2021 - Sun 18 Apr 2021
Are you a Ryedale Resident? Come to Scampston for FREE this weekend!
capability brown
Wed 12 May 2021
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
garden photography
Sat 15 May 2021
Learn how to take beautiful photographs in our gardens!
plant fair
Sun 06 Jun 2021
Scampston’s Annual Plant Fair is back with some stunning plants this year!
capability brown
Wed 09 Jun 2021
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Fri 11 Jun 2021
Relive the golden era of swing as Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr – the megastar members of the ‘Rat Pack’ who took Las Vegas by storm in the 1960's – are brought back to life with uncanny precision in this highly entertaining show.
One Night of Tina
Sat 12 Jun 2021
The internationally-acclaimed concert show ONE NIGHT OF TINA - a Tribute to the Music of Tina Turner celebrates the life of a musical icon. With simply the best performers and live band all from London's West End, enjoy a spectacular 90-minute rock 'n' rollercoaster ride through four decades of hits.
Sun 13 Jun 2021
Recreating the iconic songs and showmanship of one of the greatest ever rock bands with such electrifying precision you’ll have to pinch yourself!
blue allotment shed
Wed 16 Jun 2021 - Sun 22 Aug 2021
This summer, Selina Thorp will be showcasing her colourful exhibition in the Garden Café, featuring stunning pieces that capture the unique character of Scampston.
modified car show
Sun 20 Jun 2021
One of the best car shows in the North of England!
outdoor performance
Sat 26 Jun 2021
For the fifth year running, The Three Inch Fools will be returning with their fresh and vibrant take on Shakespearean tale 'Romeo & Juliet'. Join us in the Hall Gardens for what is set to be another rip-roaring musical adventure.
Sun 27 Jun 2021
A Fun Day Out for all the family - children, parents and dogs all welcome!
Sun 11 Jul 2021
Come and view some stunning classic cars in the inner parkland with the splendid backdrop of Scampston Hall.
capability brown
Wed 14 Jul 2021
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
game fair
Sat 31 Jul 2021 - Sun 01 Aug 2021
The Annual Game and Country Fair held in the stunning parkland!
capability brown
Wed 11 Aug 2021
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
white horse
Wed 25 Aug 2021 - Sun 31 Oct 2021
This Autumn, artist Isobel Rooke exhibits ‘Colour Convention’ in the Garden Café, which uses a vibrant colour palette to showcase her landscape and wildlife pieces that are inspired by her home in Yorkshire.
traction engine rally
Sat 04 Sep 2021 - Sun 05 Sep 2021
A fun day out for all the family!
capability brown
Wed 08 Sep 2021
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
plant fair
Sun 12 Sep 2021
Come along to our Annual Autumn Plant Fair!
garden photography
Sat 25 Sep 2021
Learn how to take beautiful photographs in our gardens!
Sat 09 Oct 2021 - Sun 10 Oct 2021
FREE visit for all Ryedale Residents!
capability brown
Wed 13 Oct 2021
Last chance to join our guided heritage walk of the stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland this season!