Families Welcome!

Families are very welcome here at Scampston, and there is plenty on offer to keep the little ones learning about the natural world and the little creatures that live in it.

Being divided into separate areas, with plenty of hedges and hiding places, the Walled Garden is a great place for hide and seek, but please to be aware of the two open ponds.

Children under the age of 5 get free entry to Scampston and you are welcome to bring a picnic and fly your kite in the 80 acre 'Capability' Brown parkland.

Scamp the Mole & Friends

Children of all ages love discovering the sights and sounds of the Walled Garden using our Sensory Bags and Scamp Explorer packs, which can be borrowed from the Ticket Office.

Scamp is now joined by his magical friends. Discover our Enchanted Trail in the woodland to find all eight of them. Then tie your wishing ribbon to our wishing tree!

The Garden Café

The Garden Café is well equipped for children, with highchairs, baby changing facilities, special children's menus and plenty of ice-cream in very enticing flavours. We also offer children’s activity sheets and colouring pencils, so you can have a little calm in which to enjoy your cream tea!

Nature Trail

In 2018 we launched our parkland Nature Trail, taking children on an adventure across Scampston's landscape of fields, bridges, gardens and lakes to find our selection of local creatures. An activity sheet accompanies the journey and is packed with fun facts about each creature.

Special Events

The Heritage & Learning Centre at Scampston Conservatory offers a number of seasonal children’s activities – from drop-in craft events, to story-telling, wildlife trails and bug hunts. Our resident Fairy Godmothers are often on hand during the school holidays with storytelling sessions and games. To see what is going on when you plant to visit, please go to Events (link to Events section, children filter)

WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
Fri 05 Apr 2019 - Sun 16 Jun 2019
Kezy's exhibition in the Garden Cafe records the changing seasons of the beautiful local Yorkshire landscape.
Sat 20 Apr 2019
Our artist in residence, Kezy Feaster, is on hand to show you her painting techniques and answer any questions you have about her stunning exhibition, Seasons in the Yorkshire Landscape.
Mon 22 Apr 2019
Get crafty and have some fun with this traditional Easter activity!
Fri 26 Apr 2019
Scampston's Fairy Godmothers return with some new stories and lots of activities for little ones!
Fri 26 Apr 2019
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Fri 03 May 2019
Join Amanda Field for a wonderful day creating a unique couture headpiece by you as Master Milliner.
Sat 11 May 2019
We're delighted to be working with Saint Catherine's Hospice Scarborough for a second year! Join us for our first ever Starlight at Scampston event and create magical memories with your nearest and dearest.
Fri 17 May 2019
Join textile artist Jo Hunter and learn how to make a beautiful ‘nuno’ silk and wool scarf.
Sat 18 May 2019 - Sun 19 May 2019
The Yorkshire Game & Country Fair returns once more to Scampston.
Tue 21 May 2019
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Thu 23 May 2019
Make your very own willow boxing hare with Wendy Bristow of Twigs and Sprigs.
Sat 25 May 2019
Learn to take beautiful photos in the garden with Ryedale Garden Photography
Fri 31 May 2019
Another fantastic event with Natural England, encouraging kids to get outdoors and explore!
Sun 02 Jun 2019
Scampston's increasingly-popular Spring Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Fri 07 Jun 2019
An introduction to Cyanotype (a photographic printing process that produces a cyan-blue print).
Tue 11 Jun 2019
Following on from Jane’s 2018 Eco Printing course, this exciting workshop will have plenty of ta-dah moments!
Sun 16 Jun 2019
Outdoor Shows Ltd's Yorkshire Modified Car Show, one of the best car show events in Yorkshire and the North of England, is coming to Scampston!
Tue 18 Jun 2019
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 18 Jun 2019 - Sun 18 Aug 2019
Angela focuses on Spring and Autumn in her upcoming exhibition with Scampston, inspired by the 'explosion of colour' they bring.
Wed 19 Jun 2019
This highly creative process will enable you to make one off creative prints from natural materials.
Fri 21 Jun 2019
Join Wendy from Twigs & Sprigs to make your very own willow owl.
Sun 30 Jun 2019
Malton Show returns to Scampston with a fantastic programme of events for all the family.
Sun 30 Jun 2019
For the fourth year running, The Three Inch Fools will be returning with their fresh and vibrant take on Shakespearean comedy 'Much Ado About Nothing'. Join us in the Hall Gardens for what is set to be another rip-roaring musical adventure.
Wed 03 Jul 2019
Capture the beautiful and inspirational gardens of Scampston using a variety of watercolour techniques.
Sun 14 Jul 2019
In association with NECPWA York, Scampston will be again be holding a Historic Vehicle Gathering for the enjoyment of owners and admirers of classic cars.
Tue 16 Jul 2019
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 23 Jul 2019
This workshop will be given by Rosy Hardy of Hardys Cottage Plants, a nursery now recognised as one of the UK’s leading plantsman's nurseries, with 22 Chelsea Gold Medals to their name.
Wed 24 Jul 2019
Another fantastic event with Natural England, encouraging kids to get outdoors and explore!
Wed 31 Jul 2019
Another fantastic event with Natural England, encouraging kids to get outdoors and explore!
Tue 06 Aug 2019
In collaboration with Natural England, share a hands-on pond dipping activity meeting diving beetles, common newts, and hawker dragonflies!
Fri 09 Aug 2019
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Tue 20 Aug 2019
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Tue 20 Aug 2019 - Sun 27 Oct 2019
Heather Burton brings to life the beautiful unpredictability of the Yorkshire landscapes in her exhibition in the Walled Garden Cafe.
Fri 23 Aug 2019
The perfect school holiday entertainment for your kids!
Sat 31 Aug 2019 - Sun 01 Sep 2019
After the success of 2018, Outdoor Shows Ltd.'s Traction Engine Rally returns to Scampston.
Sat 07 Sep 2019
Learn to take beautiful photos in the gardens with Ryedale Garden Photography
Tue 17 Sep 2019
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Wed 18 Sep 2019
A workshop given by Peter and Helleentje Walker of Wack’s Wicked Plants – Chelsea Gold Medal Winners.
Sun 29 Sep 2019
Scampston's Autumn Plant Fair returns, offering the perfect day out for keen gardeners.
Wed 02 Oct 2019
Propagation – all you need to know!
Fri 11 Oct 2019
Join textile artist Jo Hunter and learn how to make a stunning felt landscape.
Sat 12 Oct 2019 - Sun 13 Oct 2019
Join us at Scampston for the final Community Weekend of 2019 where all Ryedale Residents will gain free entry to the Walled Garden & Parkland.
Tue 15 Oct 2019
Join one of our heritage volunteers on a fascinating guided walk of the parkland and learn about the legacy that landscape architect Capability Brown has left on the landscape here.
Fri 25 Oct 2019
Learn how to keep your plants in trim and in healthy condition on this friendly and informative course.
Fri 01 Nov 2019
Get into the festive spirit - make your own willow deer!
Fri 22 Nov 2019
Join husband and wife team Martin & Jill Fish for an interesting and entertaining day full of easy to follow growing advice and cookery tips.
Wed 27 Nov 2019
Join textile artist Jo Hunter and learn how to make a festive felt stocking.
Wed 04 Dec 2019
Spend a festive day creating beautiful additions to your home or the perfect Christmas gifts.
Fri 06 Dec 2019
Spend a festive day creating beautiful additions to your home or the perfect Christmas gifts.