Families Welcome!

Families are very welcome here at Scampston, and there is plenty on offer to keep the little ones learning about the natural world and the little creatures that live in it.

Being divided into separate areas, with plenty of hedges and hiding places, the Walled Garden is a great place for hide and seek, but please to be aware of the two open ponds.

Children under the age of 5 get free entry to Scampston and you are welcome to bring a picnic and fly your kite in the 80 acre 'Capability' Brown parkland.

Scamp the Mole & Friends

Children of all ages love discovering the sights and sounds of the Walled Garden using our Sensory Bags and Scamp Explorer packs, which can be borrowed from the Ticket Office.

Scamp is now joined by his magical friends. Discover our Enchanted Trail in the woodland to find all eight of them. Then tie your wishing ribbon to our wishing tree!

The Garden Café

The Garden Café is well equipped for children, with highchairs, baby changing facilities, special children's menus and plenty of ice-cream in very enticing flavours. We also offer children’s activity sheets and colouring pencils, so you can have a little calm in which to enjoy your cream tea!

Nature Trail

In 2018 we launched our parkland Nature Trail, taking children on an adventure across Scampston's landscape of fields, bridges, gardens and lakes to find our selection of local creatures. An activity sheet accompanies the journey and is packed with fun facts about each creature.

Special Events

The Heritage & Learning Centre at Scampston Conservatory offers a number of seasonal children’s activities – from drop-in craft events, to story-telling, wildlife trails and bug hunts. Our resident Fairy Godmothers are often on hand during the school holidays with storytelling sessions and games. To see what is going on when you plant to visit, please go to Events (link to Events section, children filter)

WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
wildlife club
Sun 05 Apr 2020
April - Spectacular Spring!
Wed 15 Apr 2020
You can't beat you own home-grown produce. No matter the size of your plot, from tub to field, this is the course for anybody wishing to learn about growing your own vegetables.
children in garden
Sat 18 Apr 2020 - Sun 19 Apr 2020
Are you a Ryedale Resident? Come to Scampston for FREE this weekend!
capability brown
Tue 21 Apr 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
wildlife club
Sun 03 May 2020
May - Mad about mini beasts!
Tue 05 May 2020
Come along and make your own willow obelisk and accompanying dragonfly to support your sweet peas or runner beans.
Fri 15 May 2020
Textile artist Jo Hunter returns. Join her in the conservatory to learn how to make a beautiful ‘nuno’ silk and wool scarf.
game fair
Sat 16 May 2020 - Sun 17 May 2020
The Annual Game and Country Fair held in the stunning parkland!
capability brown
Tue 19 May 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Sat 23 May 2020
Join us on this hands-on workshop where you will learn the secrets behind creating long lasting, colourful hanging baskets.
national childrens gardening week
Mon 25 May 2020
Come and join us at Scampston to celebrate National Children's Gardening Week!
Tue 02 Jun 2020
A chance to be creative with shells and design your own detailed classical, figurative and textural shell board for your garden.
wildlife club
Sun 07 Jun 2020
June - Lake Life-cycles!
plant fair
Sun 07 Jun 2020
Scampston’s Annual Plant Fair is back with some stunning plants this year!
Wed 10 Jun 2020
A beginner's guide to creating beautiful marbled paper and stationery.
modified car show
Sun 14 Jun 2020
One of the best car shows in the North of England!
capability brown
Tue 16 Jun 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Wed 17 Jun 2020
An introductory course for all where you will be taught essential drawing techniques which underpin all painting.
father and child
Sun 21 Jun 2020
Calling all fathers! Join us for a special bushcraft session with your children!
Sat 27 Jun 2020
Reminisce over the past with the art of Macramé.
Sun 28 Jun 2020
A Fun Day Out for all the family - children, parents and dogs all welcome!
wildlife club
Sun 05 Jul 2020
July - Super Summer!
Tue 07 Jul 2020
Ever fancied gilding your own frames? Join Rob Oldfield this summer to learn this specialised skill.
Sat 11 Jul 2020 - Sun 12 Jul 2020
This two-day course is aimed at artists who want to develop their painting skills and confidence in watercolour techniques.
cut flowers
Tue 14 Jul 2020
Learn how to create a productive cutting patch in your garden or allotment, for a consistent supply of flowers for your home from April through till October.
Wed 15 Jul 2020
Learn how to create a productive cutting patch in your garden or allotment, for a consistent supply of flowers for your home from April through till October.
Sat 18 Jul 2020
Explore the process plaster casting to create some lovely plaster-cast flowers.
capability brown
Tue 21 Jul 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Sun 26 Jul 2020
An introduction to wildlife digital photography covering camera operation, picture composition and field skills for finding and approaching subjects.
dragonfly
Sun 26 Jul 2020
Come and learn about dragonflies and damselflies found on the lakes at Scampston!
Wed 29 Jul 2020
Learn to create a bowl using just wool, soap and water.
wildlife club
Sun 02 Aug 2020
August - Pollinator Party!
mini beast safari
Sun 09 Aug 2020
Come and have a go at catching and identifying a range of invertebrates!
swan on lake
Sun 16 Aug 2020
Try your hand at Pond Dipping in our lakes!
capability brown
Tue 18 Aug 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Sun 23 Aug 2020
Come and view some stunning classic cars in the inner parkland with the splendid backdrop of Scampston Hall.
art adventures
Sun 23 Aug 2020
Try your hand at weaving, printing and leaf bashing!
snail
Mon 31 Aug 2020
Join us this Bank Holiday for some slugs, snails and slime!
traction engine rally
Sat 05 Sep 2020 - Sun 06 Sep 2020
A fun day out for all the family!
wildlife club
Sun 06 Sep 2020
September - Terrific Trees!
plant fair
Sun 13 Sep 2020
Come along to our Annual Autumn Plant Fair!
capability brown
Tue 15 Sep 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Tue 15 Sep 2020
Lots of fun to be had creating an elegant chicken or cockerel to display in your home or garden.
Thu 24 Sep 2020
Piet Oudolf planting – how does he do it?
Wed 30 Sep 2020
In this popular one-day workshop you'll learn how to construct a chicken-wired chicken or duck – a wonderfully cheerful addition to any garden.
wildlife club
Sun 04 Oct 2020
October - Awesome Autumn!
Wed 07 Oct 2020
Lots of fun to be had marbling cotton with your own design – create a completely unique and one-off lampshade for your favourite lamp.
Wed 14 Oct 2020
Your garden never really sleeps, so come and join John Foxton and get some useful tips for looking after your garden this winter.
owl
Sun 18 Oct 2020
Join us for an evening session that introduces the mysterious world of nocturnal animals, including bats, moths and birds!
capability brown
Tue 20 Oct 2020
Last chance to join our guided heritage walk of the stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland this season!
Thu 22 Oct 2020
Thinking of what to change in your garden? Winter is the perfect time to start, so join Martin Fish for this full day of talking plants and garden design.
Thu 05 Nov 2020
Get ready for next Spring in this interactive and hands-on workshop, propagating a wide range of garden plants, including shrubs, evergreens, perennials, house plants, fruit trees and bushes.
wildlife club
Sun 08 Nov 2020
November - Fantastic Fungi!
Fri 13 Nov 2020
Thinking of that perfect gift? Join textile artist Jo Hunter and learn how to make a beautiful ‘Nuno’ silk and wool scarf for Christmas.
Tue 17 Nov 2020
Make your own willow stag's head just in time for Christmas.
Wed 25 Nov 2020
Create a gorgeous handmade traditional wreath and garland.
Tue 01 Dec 2020
Show off your creative talents to your family and friends this Christmas with your handmade decorations!
wildlife club
Sun 06 Dec 2020
December - Natural Christmas Crafts!
Wed 09 Dec 2020
Fancy something a little different? Enjoy this festive workshop and create your own willow wreath – it’s all the rage this year!