At Scampston

Scampston Hall, home to Christopher & Miranda Legard and their family, is one of the finest examples of a regency stately home in North Yorkshire. The award winning Walled Garden is a must see and is open to the public from April to October. The William Richardson Conservatory, built in 1894, and the adjacent bothies behind the range of glasshouses, have been brought back to life with a new focus thanks to the help of a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.

The Cascade Circuit Walk provides visitors with the opportunity to visit the traditional gardens around the house including the Rock Garden, the Woodland Garden and the Lancelot 'Capability' Brown Parkland.

The Walled Garden
walled garden
Set within the 18th century walls of the original kitchen garden for Scampston Hall the Walled Garden has an exciting and unashamedly modern feel to it and complements the adjacent 18th century ‘Capability’ Brown park.
Scampston Hall
hall interior
Scampston Hall, home to Christopher & Miranda Legard and their family, is one of the finest examples of a regency country house in North Yorkshire.
The Conservatory
Built in 1894, The William Richardson conservatory and the adjacent bothies have been brought back to life with a new focus thanks to the help of a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund.
Parkland
Scampston Hall looks over one of the finest parks in North Yorkshire. The park evolved throughout the 18th Century, culminating in a design by Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown in 1782.
WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
sheep
Wed 30 Mar 2022 - Sun 12 Jun 2022
This Spring, Jo Garlick’s exhibition in the Garden Cafe illustrates the beauty of the natural world that surrounds us in Yorkshire, including its wildlife and stunning landscapes.
Thu 12 May 2022 - Thu 23 Jun 2022
Join this 6-week course to learn about herbal remedies for health and home.
game fair
Sat 21 May 2022 - Sun 22 May 2022
The Annual Game and Country Fair held in the stunning parkland!
Mon 23 May 2022
Friendly play sessions for families with children from 18 months to 5 years
plant fair
Sun 29 May 2022
Scampston’s Annual Plant Fair is back with some stunning plants this year!
Sun 05 Jun 2022
Lake lifecycles!
capability brown
Wed 08 Jun 2022
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
orchids
Wed 08 Jun 2022
Discover the fascination of orchids and the connection between Scampston and the orchid world...
Fri 10 Jun 2022 - Sun 12 Jun 2022
#VanLifeFest is a 3-day family-focused Camper event set within the beautiful grounds of Scampston Hall.
Sat 11 Jun 2022
Work a piece of traditional embroidery inspired by a bedspread from Scampston Hall
Wed 15 Jun 2022 - Sun 21 Aug 2022
Come along to our Garden Cafe and visit Carolyn's stunning art exhibition, featuring beautiful vistas of the Yorkshire Wolds.
Sat 18 Jun 2022
Try your hand at the beautiful craft of botanical plaster casting in our stunning conservatory!
modified car show
Sun 19 Jun 2022
One of the best car shows in the North of England!
Sun 26 Jun 2022
A Fun Day Out for all the family - children, parents and dogs all welcome!
Sat 02 Jul 2022
Learn the art of felt making where you will be guided through the process of creating your own fabulous wet felted bag
Sun 03 Jul 2022
Super Summer!
botanical plaster casting
Sun 10 Jul 2022
Try your hand at the beautiful craft of botanical plaster casting in our stunning conservatory!
capability brown
Wed 13 Jul 2022
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Thu 14 Jul 2022
An evening at Scampston Walled Garden for the exclusive use of our annual members.
twelfth night
Fri 29 Jul 2022
The Three Inch Fools are dusting down their musical instruments and coming to Scampston Hall to perform Shakespeare’s riotous comedy, Twelfth Night.
crowns
Fri 29 Jul 2022
Join us this summer for some royal-themed stories, games and crafts in the Walled Garden and woodland! This is part of our activity sessions running throughout the summer holidays.
Wed 03 Aug 2022
Join us this summer for some environment-themed stories, games and crafts in the Walled Garden and woodland! This is part of our activity sessions running throughout the summer holidays.
Sun 07 Aug 2022
Winged Wonders!
Sun 07 Aug 2022
Come and view some stunning classic cars in the inner parkland with the splendid backdrop of Scampston Hall.
capability brown
Wed 10 Aug 2022
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Fri 12 Aug 2022
Join us this summer for some pirate-themed stories, games and crafts in the Walled Garden and woodland! This is part of our activity sessions running throughout the summer holidays.
wool exhibition
Wed 17 Aug 2022 - Sun 21 Aug 2022
This Summer Embracing Wool’s Exhibition will be held in the Walled Garden Conservatory and showcases the work of its members.
Sun 21 Aug 2022
Join us this summer for some jungle-themed stories, games and crafts in the Walled Garden and woodland! This is part of our activity sessions running throughout the summer holidays.
artwork
Wed 24 Aug 2022 - Sun 30 Oct 2022
This Autumn, we're showcasing a very unique exhibition in the Garden Cafe, featuring artwork that has been collaboratively created by mother/child duo, Barbara Taylor-Gell and Yaz Ebrahim.
Fri 26 Aug 2022
Join us this summer for some stories, games and crafts about weird and wonderful creatures in the Walled Garden and woodland! This is part of our activity sessions running throughout the summer holidays.
traction engine rally
Sat 03 Sep 2022 - Sun 04 Sep 2022
A fun day out for all the family!
Sun 04 Sep 2022
Flower power!
Wed 07 Sep 2022
Work a piece of traditional embroidery inspired by a bedspread from Scampston Hall
Thu 08 Sep 2022 - Thu 13 Oct 2022
Join this 6-week course to learn about herbal remedies for health and home.
Sat 10 Sep 2022
Learn how to take beautiful photographs using our gardens!
plant fair
Sun 11 Sep 2022
Come along to our Annual Autumn Plant Fair!
capability brown
Wed 14 Sep 2022
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Tue 20 Sep 2022
Come and make your own willow woodland deer.
Sun 02 Oct 2022
Awesome Autumn!
Sat 08 Oct 2022 - Sun 09 Oct 2022
FREE visit for all Ryedale Residents!
Sat 08 Oct 2022
On this workshop you will create a unique felt and stitch flower meadow picture based on one of Lynn’s designs.
capability brown
Wed 12 Oct 2022
Last chance to join our guided heritage walk of the stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland this season!
Sun 06 Nov 2022
Fabulous fungi!
Sun 04 Dec 2022
Natural Christmas Crafts!
TESTIMONIALS
"The Walled Garden at Scampston is really imaginative and creative and a marvellous use of space. It is without doubt one of the great gardens of the early 21st century."
Sir Richard Carew Pole
" Gorgeous house and gardens. Wish I'd come years ago, but will certainly return very soon! Fantastic house tour. "
Rachel & Elizabeth, North Yorkshire
"Quite simply the best garden I have ever seen (and I've seen an awful lot of gardens!) "
Sarah, Oxfordshire
"Inside, [Scampston Hall] boasts some of the finest Regency interiors in Britain. There are original wallpapers and exquisite furniture that reflects the family’s French heritage. There is also a notable collection of porcelain and 5,000 rare books that come off the shelves every ten years to be waxed and dusted. "
Sharon Dale, The Yorkshire Post
"This garden has made our visit a pure delight and is now in my top 5 gardens. Stunning structure and detail. Calming and strong. A real pleasure - thank you for the pure inspiration. "
Sarah, Warwickshire
"The tour of the house is well worth doing as well. Ours was conducted by the father of the present occupant, who formerly lived there himself. He was entertaining as well as informative about this charming house, which is not over-large and clearly still a family home."
Stephen, Chesterfield
"I’ve just returned from a visit to Scampston Walled Garden in North Yorkshire all fired up and feeling inspired by the dazzling autumn planting created by master plant designer Piet Oudolf. The garden really captures the feel of the European garden style or “prairie planting” look as many of us have come to know it. The explosion of seedheads, grasses and collapsing perennials still looked amazing and will continue to do so for many months ahead. "
Sean Murray
"Beautiful gardens and so well maintained. Everywhere was very well thought out, inside and out. Staff were very pleasant. "
Jane & Sue, South Yorkshire
"Within the historic Walled Garden at Scampston Hall there are eight rooms, each one a wonderful display of contemporary planting, structure and form."
Stephen Lacy, Daily Telegraph
"We decided to have lunch in the cafe and so glad we did. I had a cheese jacket potato and side salad and it was very good followed this with a pot of tea and shared a slice of lemon meringue cake. At just under £20.00 well worth it for the quality of the food and service from the ladies who worked there. "
Hazel