At Scampston

Scampston Hall, home to Christopher & Miranda Legard and their family, is one of the finest examples of a regency country house stately home in North Yorkshire. The award winning Walled Garden is a must see and is open to the public from April to October. The William Richardson Conservatory, built in 1894, and the adjacent bothies behind the range of glasshouses, have been brought back to life with a new focus thanks to the help of a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund. The Cascade Circuit Walk provides visitors with the opportunity to visit the traditional gardens around the house including the Rock Garden, the Woodland Garden and the Lancelot 'Capability' Brown Parkland.

The Walled Garden
Set within the 18th century walls of the original kitchen garden for Scampston Hall the Walled Garden has an exciting and unashamedly modern feel to it and complements the adjacent 18th century ‘Capability’ Brown park.
Scampston Hall
Scampston Hall, home to Christopher & Miranda Legard and their family, is one of the finest examples of a regency country house stately home in North Yorkshire.
The Conservatory
Built in 1894, The William Richardson conservatory and the adjacent bothies have been brought back to life with a new focus thanks to the help of a major grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund
Parkland
Scampston Hall looks over one of the finest parks in North Yorkshire. The park evolved throughout the 18th Century, culminating in a design by Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown in 1782.
WHAT'S ON AT SCAMPSTON
wildlife club
Sun 05 Apr 2020
April - Spectacular Spring!
Wed 15 Apr 2020
You can't beat you own home-grown produce. No matter the size of your plot, from tub to field, this is the course for anybody wishing to learn about growing your own vegetables.
children in garden
Sat 18 Apr 2020 - Sun 19 Apr 2020
Are you a Ryedale Resident? Come to Scampston for FREE this weekend!
capability brown
Tue 21 Apr 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
wildlife club
Sun 03 May 2020
May - Mad about mini beasts!
Tue 05 May 2020
Come along and make your own willow obelisk and accompanying dragonfly to support your sweet peas or runner beans.
Fri 15 May 2020
Textile artist Jo Hunter returns. Join her in the conservatory to learn how to make a beautiful ‘nuno’ silk and wool scarf.
game fair
Sat 16 May 2020 - Sun 17 May 2020
The Annual Game and Country Fair held in the stunning parkland!
garden photography
Sun 17 May 2020
Learn how to take beautiful photographs in our gardens!
capability brown
Tue 19 May 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Sat 23 May 2020
Join us on this hands-on workshop where you will learn the secrets behind creating long lasting, colourful hanging baskets.
national childrens gardening week
Mon 25 May 2020
Come and join us at Scampston to celebrate National Children's Gardening Week!
Tue 02 Jun 2020
A chance to be creative with shells and design your own detailed classical, figurative and textural shell board for your garden.
wildlife club
Sun 07 Jun 2020
June - Lake Life-cycles!
plant fair
Sun 07 Jun 2020
Scampston’s Annual Plant Fair is back with some stunning plants this year!
Wed 10 Jun 2020
A beginner's guide to creating beautiful marbled paper and stationery.
modified car show
Sun 14 Jun 2020
One of the best car shows in the North of England!
capability brown
Tue 16 Jun 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Wed 17 Jun 2020
An introductory course for all where you will be taught essential drawing techniques which underpin all painting.
father and child
Sun 21 Jun 2020
Calling all fathers! Join us for a special bushcraft session with your children!
Sat 27 Jun 2020
Reminisce over the past with the art of Macramé.
Sun 28 Jun 2020
A Fun Day Out for all the family - children, parents and dogs all welcome!
wildlife club
Sun 05 Jul 2020
July - Super Summer!
Tue 07 Jul 2020
Ever fancied gilding your own frames? Join Rob Oldfield this summer to learn this specialised skill.
Sat 11 Jul 2020 - Sun 12 Jul 2020
This two-day course is aimed at artists who want to develop their painting skills and confidence in watercolour techniques.
cut flowers
Tue 14 Jul 2020
Learn how to create a productive cutting patch in your garden or allotment, for a consistent supply of flowers for your home from April through till October.
Wed 15 Jul 2020
Learn how to create a productive cutting patch in your garden or allotment, for a consistent supply of flowers for your home from April through till October.
Sat 18 Jul 2020
Explore the process plaster casting to create some lovely plaster-cast flowers.
capability brown
Tue 21 Jul 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Sun 26 Jul 2020
An introduction to wildlife digital photography covering camera operation, picture composition and field skills for finding and approaching subjects.
dragonfly
Sun 26 Jul 2020
Come and learn about dragonflies and damselflies found on the lakes at Scampston!
Wed 29 Jul 2020
Learn to create a bowl using just wool, soap and water.
wildlife club
Sun 02 Aug 2020
August - Pollinator Party!
mini beast safari
Sun 09 Aug 2020
Come and have a go at catching and identifying a range of invertebrates!
swan on lake
Sun 16 Aug 2020
Try your hand at Pond Dipping in our lakes!
capability brown
Tue 18 Aug 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Sun 23 Aug 2020
Come and view some stunning classic cars in the inner parkland with the splendid backdrop of Scampston Hall.
art adventures
Sun 23 Aug 2020
Try your hand at weaving, printing and leaf bashing!
garden photography
Sun 30 Aug 2020
Learn how to take beautiful photographs in our gardens!
snail
Mon 31 Aug 2020
Join us this Bank Holiday for some slugs, snails and slime!
traction engine rally
Sat 05 Sep 2020 - Sun 06 Sep 2020
A fun day out for all the family!
wildlife club
Sun 06 Sep 2020
September - Terrific Trees!
plant fair
Sun 13 Sep 2020
Come along to our Annual Autumn Plant Fair!
capability brown
Tue 15 Sep 2020
Fancy learning more about our stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland? Join us on a guided heritage walk!
Tue 15 Sep 2020
Lots of fun to be had creating an elegant chicken or cockerel to display in your home or garden.
Thu 24 Sep 2020
Piet Oudolf planting – how does he do it?
Wed 30 Sep 2020
In this popular one-day workshop you'll learn how to construct a chicken-wired chicken or duck – a wonderfully cheerful addition to any garden.
wildlife club
Sun 04 Oct 2020
October - Awesome Autumn!
Wed 07 Oct 2020
Lots of fun to be had marbling cotton with your own design – create a completely unique and one-off lampshade for your favourite lamp.
Wed 14 Oct 2020
Your garden never really sleeps, so come and join John Foxton and get some useful tips for looking after your garden this winter.
owl
Sun 18 Oct 2020
Join us for an evening session that introduces the mysterious world of nocturnal animals, including bats, moths and birds!
capability brown
Tue 20 Oct 2020
Last chance to join our guided heritage walk of the stunning ‘Capability’ Brown Parkland this season!
Thu 22 Oct 2020
Thinking of what to change in your garden? Winter is the perfect time to start, so join Martin Fish for this full day of talking plants and garden design.
Thu 05 Nov 2020
Get ready for next Spring in this interactive and hands-on workshop, propagating a wide range of garden plants, including shrubs, evergreens, perennials, house plants, fruit trees and bushes.
wildlife club
Sun 08 Nov 2020
November - Fantastic Fungi!
Fri 13 Nov 2020
Thinking of that perfect gift? Join textile artist Jo Hunter and learn how to make a beautiful ‘Nuno’ silk and wool scarf for Christmas.
Tue 17 Nov 2020
Make your own willow stag's head just in time for Christmas.
Wed 25 Nov 2020
Create a gorgeous handmade traditional wreath and garland.
Tue 01 Dec 2020
Show off your creative talents to your family and friends this Christmas with your handmade decorations!
wildlife club
Sun 06 Dec 2020
December - Natural Christmas Crafts!
Wed 09 Dec 2020
Fancy something a little different? Enjoy this festive workshop and create your own willow wreath – it’s all the rage this year!
TESTIMONIALS
"The Walled Garden at Scampston is really imaginative and creative and a marvellous use of space. It is without doubt one of the great gardens of the early 21st century."
Sir Richard Carew Pole
" Gorgeous house and gardens. Wish I'd come years ago, but will certainly return very soon! Fantastic house tour. "
Rachel & Elizabeth, North Yorkshire
"Quite simply the best garden I have ever seen (and I've seen an awful lot of gardens!) "
Sarah, Oxfordshire
"Inside, [Scampston Hall] boasts some of the finest Regency interiors in Britain. There are original wallpapers and exquisite furniture that reflects the family’s French heritage. There is also a notable collection of porcelain and 5,000 rare books that come off the shelves every ten years to be waxed and dusted. "
Sharon Dale, The Yorkshire Post
"This garden has made our visit a pure delight and is now in my top 5 gardens. Stunning structure and detail. Calming and strong. A real pleasure - thank you for the pure inspiration. "
Sarah, Warwickshire
"The tour of the house is well worth doing as well. Ours was conducted by the father of the present occupant, who formerly lived there himself. He was entertaining as well as informative about this charming house, which is not over-large and clearly still a family home."
Stephen, Chesterfield
"I’ve just returned from a visit to Scampston Walled Garden in North Yorkshire all fired up and feeling inspired by the dazzling autumn planting created by master plant designer Piet Oudolf. The garden really captures the feel of the European garden style or “prairie planting” look as many of us have come to know it. The explosion of seedheads, grasses and collapsing perennials still looked amazing and will continue to do so for many months ahead. "
Sean Murray
"Beautiful gardens and so well maintained. Everywhere was very well thought out, inside and out. Staff were very pleasant. "
Jane & Sue, South Yorkshire
"Within the historic Walled Garden at Scampston Hall there are eight rooms, each one a wonderful display of contemporary planting, structure and form."
Stephen Lacy, Daily Telegraph
"We decided to have lunch in the cafe and so glad we did. I had a cheese jacket potato and side salad and it was very good followed this with a pot of tea and shared a slice of lemon meringue cake. At just under £20.00 well worth it for the quality of the food and service from the ladies who worked there. "
Hazel